Honarable Minister for Education Naeem Akhter chaired meeting of PMMMNMTT at CUJ
Nov 08, 2016

A consultative meeting of the experts and State Collaborators (SIE and DIETs etc.) was organised by the Department of Educational Studies, CUJ in TAB Sainik Colony. The agenda of the meeting was to chalk out the action plan for implementation and utilizations of the grants received under Pandit Madan Mohan Malviya National Mission on Teachers and Teaching (PMMMNMTT), a Central Government Scheme.

The meeting was graced by the presence of Jenab Naeem Akhter the Hon’ble Minister of Education, Jammu & Kashmir. Besides, Prof. Ashok Aima, Vice Chancellor CU Jammu, Prof. Lokesh K Verma Head & Dean, Department of Educational Studies CUJ, Prof. Nityanand Pandey, Head & Dean, CU Assam, Prof. Anita Rastogi, Dean School of Education Jamia Millia Islamia, Prof. Nadeem Head & Dean CU Kasmir, Babila Rakwal, Director School Education Jammu, Field Advisor SIE, CEOs Jammu and Samba, faculty and scholars of Department of Educational Studies were amongst the members of the consultative committee.

During the meeting Hon’ble Minister Naeem Akhter impressed upon the need for revisiting the whole education system right from elementary to higher to create pool of academic and Intellectual young minds having scientific temperament. Prof. Ashok Aima, VC, CUJ, stressed on the immediate needs felt by school education which can be modeled into deliverable package for holistic development with the active collaboration of CUJ. Prof. Verma stressed that there should be no gap between university and school education and assured of all possible financial and academic support. The state collaborators highlighted and projected the areas in which the immediate intervention is required in the field of school education and teacher education. Focus was laid on the capacity building programme in science, mathematics and languages with the effective use of ICT. Consensus was made to develop SIE and DIET, Jammu and DIET Kashmir as incubating centers and Model Institutions for quality teaching and teacher programmes.