



DEPARTMENT OF BOTANY CENTRAL UNIVERSITY OF JAMMU

Organizes National Webinar

on

CHANGING PARADIGMS IN PLANT TAXONOMY

6th January 2022

Taxonomy is the field of biology that is crucial for understanding the diversity of life on earth. It not only encompasses the identification, description and classification of species but also plays a fundamental role in conservation of biodiversity.

Taxonomy is also essential part of studies related to forestry, horticulture, landscape development, aesthetics and other fields relevant to mankind. Without taxonomy, all other fields of biology will be deprived of their focus and aim. Despite this, the number of trained taxonomists are declining, and the research priorities often shift away from taxonomy.

The primary goal of this webinar is to inculcate the knowledge of both classical and modern tools of taxonomy. The webinar aims to develop knowledge among degree students, research scholars and teaching faculty working in the field of plant biology that can improve the research work and applicability of the branch of taxonomy in various other fields.



Prof. Sanjeev Jain Vice Chancellor Central University of Jammu

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS



Prof. S. R. Yadav INSA Scientist, Department of Botany, Shivaji University, Kolhapur



Prof. Arun Kumar Pandey Vice Chancellor Mansarovar Global University, Sehore

Webinar starts at : 11 am Join 20 minutes prior to the start of webinar Date : 6th January 2022 Join with this link https://meet.google.com/ppd-ctxb-aah



Prof. D. Narasimhan Member, State Biodiversity Board, Tamil Nadu



Dr. R.K. Choudhary Scientist-D Agharkar Research Institute, Pune

For further details contact: Email : <u>mabhat90@gmail.com</u>; Mobile: 6005662495 Email: <u>bsbhau@cujammu.ac.in</u>; Mobile :9957574216

Webinar registration link: https://forms.gle/A7JwgakohtaxZmMT8

PATRON Prof. B. S. Bhau Dean, School of life Sciences & Head, Department of Botany Central University of Jammu ORGANIZING SECRETARY Dr. Mudassir Ahmad Bhat

E-Certificate will be provided to all the participants

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

- Dr. Samantha Vaishnavi Dr. Vikas Srivastava Dr. Deepak Bhardwaj Dr. Ritika Sharma Dr. Pratibah Lalotra Dr. Razak Hussain
- Dr. Razak Hussa Dr. Richa Bharti
- Dr. Sonal Mishra
- Dr. Sonal Mishra Dr. Sajan Thakur
- Mr. Sumit Singh